Indianapolis 500 Entry List

The 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 is nearly two weeks away. With the first official practice set for Monday, the field has finally taken shape. The expected announcements by Juncos Racing over the past two days puts the official count at 32, with Buddy Lazier the last confirmation remaining. It appears he and his team will be back for a fifth consecutive season. Honda will field 18 entries this year, with Chevrolet covering the other 15 cars.

Presuming Lazier is indeed the 33rd entry, there will be seven former Indy 500 winners in the field this year. Those would include Helio Castroneves, Juan Montoya, Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Alexander Rossi, and Lazier. The addition of Lazier would also put the count of American drivers at 13 for the race on May 28. The four Rookies in the field this year are Ed Jones, Fernando Alonso, Jack Harvey, and Zach Veach.

Monday’s practice will begin at Noon with Rookie Orientation. All teams and drivers will be able to hit the track at 2 PM. Kicking off the Month of May, the drivers will take to the road course for the IndyCar Grand Prix. Practice and qualifying takes place on Friday, with the race (3:30 PM on ABC) on Saturday.

2017 Indianapolis 500 Entry List



Car #


AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet 4 Conor Daly
AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet 14 Carlos Munoz
AJ Foyt Racing Chevrolet 40 Zach Veach (R)
Andretti Autosport Honda 26 Takuma Sato
Andretti Autosport Honda 27 Marco Andretti
Andretti Autosport Honda 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay
Andretti Autosport / McLaren Honda 29 Fernando Alonso (R)
Andretti Autosport / Shank Honda 50 Jack Harvey (R)
Andretti Autosport Honda 98 Alexander Rossi
Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 8 Max Chilton
Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 9 Scott Dixon
Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 10 Tony Kanaan
Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 83 Charlie Kimball
Dale Coyne Racing Honda 18 Sebastien Bourdais
Dale Coyne Racing Honda 19 Ed Jones (R)
Dale Coyne Racing Honda 63 Pippa Mann
Dreyer & Reinbold Chevrolet 24 Sage Karam
Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 20 Ed Carpenter
Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 21 JR Hildebrand
Harding Racing Chevrolet 88 Gabby Chaves
Juncos Racing Chevrolet 11 Spencer Pigot
Juncos Racing Chevrolet 17 Sebastian Saavedra
Lazier Racing Chevrolet 44 Buddy Lazier
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda 15 Graham Rahal
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda 16 Oriol Servia
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda 5 James Hinchcliffe
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda 7 Mikhail Aleshin
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda 77 Jay Howard
Team Penske Chevrolet 1 Simon Pagenaud
Team Penske Chevrolet 2 Josef Newgarden
Team Penske Chevrolet 3 Helio Castroneves
Team Penske Chevrolet 12 Will Power
Team Penske Chevrolet 22 Juan Montoya

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s