Ganassi Driver Announcements

Team owner Chip Ganassi will have a slightly different looking team next season, but plenty of familiar faces.

The first announcement came on Monday, with Scott Dixon returning to the number 9 Target-sponsored car. The 2008 Indy 500 winner and three-time Series Champion will be back for his 14th Season. Having spent his entire career with Ganassi, Dixon has the longest tenure for a driver in the organization’s history. He finished in third place in last year’s championship, and has finished in the top four in each of the last nine seasons.

On Wednesday came the second announcement that Tony Kanaan would be returning to the number 10 car, but that it would be sponsored by NTT Data, not Target. The move comes as Target shifts some of their money towards the marketing side of things. Kanaan had originally planned to be with NTT Data for the 2014 season, but things changed as Dario Franchitti was forced to retire. The 2013 Indy 500 winner and 2004 Series Champion won his first race with the team in last year’s season-finale at Fontana.

Friday the team announced that Charlie Kimball will be back for his fifth season with the team, driving the number 83 Novo Nordisk-sponsored car. The contract was described as a multi-year deal. Kimball was the first licensed driver with diabetes to qualify and compete in the Indianapolis 500, and has done tremendous work with Novo Nordisk over the years. He has shown strong improvement on the track as well, recording seven top-five finishes over the last two seasons, including his win at Mid-Ohio in 2013.

Ganassi said that two additional announcements about their IndyCar and TUDOR programs will follow next week.

That IndyCar announcement could be for the team’s fourth full-time entry in 2015. They have been working on sponsorship for the car, which will likely be driven by Ganassi Development Driver Sage Karam, who impressed many (started 31st, finished 9th) in last year’s Indianapolis 500. The driver of the team’s fourth car last year, Ryan Briscoe, will not be back in 2015.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s