Will Power Wins at Brazil

Four races into the 2012 IndyCar Season, Team Penske and Chevrolet have yet to lose a race.

Will Power won his third straight race of the year in dominating fashion in Sao Paulo. He has now won all three races in Brazil. Ryan Hunter-Reay had another solid run, finishing second. Takuma Sato went from 26th to third to complete the podium. Helio Castroneves and Dario Franchitti rounded out the top five.

The threat of rain moved the start of the race up a little, but it never came. After a clean start to the race, the yellow flag flew multiple times in the late stages. On a restart about one-third of the way through the race, Mike Conway (who was having a great run in the top five) locked up his front wheels and punted Franchitti going into turn one.

Dario was able to rebound, but teammate Scott Dixon faced some adversity when a late caution put a damper on his chances of a good finish. Lady luck has not been kind to the Target cars this year. Heading into Indianapolis, Chip Ganassi does not have a car in the top five of the points standings.

The race in Brazil featured some great passing, but also some impatient drivers. Power, the pole sitter, was not challenged much on Sunday. For the series, he focus now turns to Indianapolis for the Greatest Spectacle in Racing. Opening day at the track is Saturday, May 12.

The points standings heading into Indianapolis:

  1. Will Power
  2. Helio Castroneves -45
  3. James Hinchcliffe -57
  4. Ryan Hunter-Reay -59
  5. Simon Pagenaud -62

Here are the official results from today’s race in Sao Paulo, Brazil:

  1. Will Power
  2. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  3. Takuma Sato
  4. Helio Castroneves
  5. Dario Franchitti
  6. James Hinchcliffe
  7. JR Hildebrand
  8. Charlie Kimball
  9. EJ Viso
  10. Rubens Barrichello
  11. Oriol Servia
  12. Simon Pagenaud
  13. Tony Kanaan
  14. Marco Andretti
  15. James Jakes
  16. Graham Rahal
  17. Scott Dixon
  18. Sebastien Bourdais
  19. Mike Conway
  20. Ana Beatriz
  21. Ed Carpenter
  22. Justin Wilson
  23. Josef Newgarden
  24. Ryan Briscoe
  25. Katherine Legge

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s