Franchitti Wins Indianapolis 500

Fin Driver Sponsor / Owner Laps Status Led Pts
1    Dario Franchitti Target   (Chip Ganassi) 200 running 155 64
2    Dan Wheldon National Guard   (Panther Racing) 200 running 0 44
3    Marco Andretti Venom Energy   (Andretti Autosport) 200 running 1 39
4    Alex Lloyd Boy Scouts of America   (Dale Coyne) 200 running 0 35
5    Scott Dixon Target   (Chip Ganassi) 200 running 0 39
6    Danica Patrick   (Andretti Autosport) 200 running 0 32
7    Justin Wilson Z-Line Designs   (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing) 200 running 11 30
8    Will Power Verizon   (Roger Penske) 200 running 5 37
9    Helio Castroneves Team Penske   (Roger Penske) 200 running 3 37
10    Alex Tagliani Bowers & Wilkins / Honda Edmonton Indy   (FAZZT Race Team) 200 running 0 30
11    Tony Kanaan 7-Eleven   (Andretti Autosport) 200 running 0 22
12    Graham Rahal The Quick Trim / RLR Special   (Rahal-Letterman Racing) 200 running 0 26
13    Mario Romancini Conquest Racing   (Eric Bachelart) 200 running 0 20
14    Simona de Silvestro Stargate Worlds / HVM   (Keith Wiggins) 200 running 0 20
15    Tomas Scheckter Mona Vie   (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing) 199 running 5 19
16    Townsend Bell Herbalife   (Ganassi-Schmidt Racing) 199 running 0 18
17    Ed Carpenter Fuzzy’s Vodka   (Panther Racing) 199 running 0 20
18    Ryan Hunter-Reay IZOD   (Andretti Autosport) 198 crash 0 16
19    Mike Conway Dad’s Root Beer   (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing) 198 crash 15 16
20    Takuma Sato Lotus   (KV Racing Technology) 198 running 0 15
21    Ana Beatriz Ipiranga   (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing) 196 running 0 16
22    Bertrand Baguette Conquest Racing / RACB   (Eric Bachelart) 183 running 0 16
23    Sebastian Saavedra William Rast   (Bryan Herta Autosport) 159 crash 0 15
24    Ryan Briscoe Team Penske   (Roger Penske) 147 crash 5 23
25    E.J. Viso PDVSA / Jet Aviation   (KV Racing Technology) 139 crash 0 14
26    Sarah Fisher Dollar General   (Sarah Fisher) 125 crash 0 13
27    Vitor Meira ABC Supply Co.   (A.J. Foyt) 105 crash 0 13
28    Hideki Mutoh Formula Dream / Panasonic   (Newman-Haas-Lanigan Racing) 76 handling 0 16
29    Raphael Matos HP   (De Ferran-Luczo-Dragon Racing) 72 crash 0 14
30    John Andretti Window World   (R. Petty / Andretti Autosport) 62 crash 0 13
31    Mario Moraes GEICO / Curb Records   (KV Racing Tech./Curb-Agajanian) 17 crash 0 14
32    Bruno Junqueira Bowers & Wilkins / TorcUP   (FAZZT Race Team) 7 crash 0 13
33    Davey Hamilton HP   (De Ferran-Luczo-Dragon Racing) 0 crash 0 14


•Dario Franchitti became the 17th driver with at least two Indianapolis 500 victories.

•Dario Franchitti became the first driver from Scotland to win the Indianapolis 500 more than once. Jim Clark won in 1965.

•Chip Ganassi became the first team owner to win the Indianapolis 500 and Daytona 500 in the same year. Dario Franchitti won the Indianapolis 500 today; Ganassi driver Jamie McMurray won the Daytona 500 in February. Roger Penske is the only other owner to win the Indianapolis 500 and Daytona 500, winning 15 times at Indianapolis and in 2008 at Daytona with Ryan Newman driving.

•Panther Racing has finished runner-up in the Indianapolis 500 for three consecutive years, with Vitor Meira in 2008 and Dan Wheldon in 2009 and 2010.

•Dario Franchitti earned his first Indianapolis 500 victory in 2007 with Andretti Green Racing, now Andretti Autosport. He won today for Target Chip Ganassi Racing. The last driver to earn his second Indy 500 victory with a different team than his first was Arie Luyendyk. He won in 1990 for Shierson Racing and earned his second victory in 1997 for Treadway Racing.

•Dario Franchitti was the top lap leader of the race with 155 laps led. This is the third consecutive year that a Target Chip Ganassi Racing car has led the most race laps. Scott Dixon led 115 laps when he won from the pole position in 2008, and Dixon also was the top lap leader in 2009 when he finished sixth after leading 73 laps.

•The 155 laps led by race winner Dario Franchitti is the ninth-highest total for an Indianapolis 500 winner. It is the most laps led by an Indianapolis 500 driver since Juan Pablo Montoya led 167 laps en route to victory in 2000.

•Dario Franchitti climbed to 21st place on the all-time Indianapolis 500 lap leader list, with 255 laps, after leading 155 laps today. He entered the race 59th on the all-time lap leader list.

•The 2010 Indianapolis 500 race marked the fourth victory for a car owned or co-owned by Chip Ganassi. He was the sole owner of the winning entries in 2000 (Juan Pablo Montoya), 2008 (Scott Dixon) and Dario Franchitti (2010). Ganassi was co-owner with U.E. “Pat” Patrick in 1989 (Emerson Fittipaldi). The only car owners with more Indianapolis 500 victories are Roger Penske (15) and Lou Moore (five).

•This was the first time car number 10 won the Indianapolis 500.

•Dario Franchitti started from the third position. This is the 11th time that the winning car has started from that position. Dario Franchitti’s other win, in 2007, also came from the third starting position.

•Alex Lloyd and Tony Kanaan each advanced 22 positions, the most of any finisher. Lloyd finished fourth after starting 26th. Kanaan finished 11th after starting 33rd.

•The highest finisher for car owner Roger Penske’s three entries was eighth place (Will Power). His other two drivers finished ninth (Helio Castroneves) and 24th (Ryan Briscoe). The last time Team Penske’s best finisher at Indianapolis was lower was in 2005, when Castroneves finished ninth.

•There were three first time Indianapolis 500 lap leaders in today’s race: Will Power, Mike Conway, and Justin Wilson.

•Danica Patrick and Sarah Fisher overtook Lyn St. James for most laps completed in an Indianapolis 500 career by a female driver. Patrick completed 200 laps in the 2010 event, which raised her Indianapolis 500 career total to 1,137 laps completed. Fisher completed 125 laps in the 2010 race to raise her Indianapolis 500 career total to 1,057 laps completed. St. James completed 947 laps in her seven-year career in the Indianapolis 500.

•Danica Patrick finished sixth in the 2010 Indianapolis 500. This is Patrick’s fifth top-10 finish in six career Indianapolis 500 starts.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s