Ryan Briscoe on Pole at Long Beach

Ryan Briscoe beat teammate Will Power in the final minutes of qualifying to win the Pole for Sunday’s race at Long Beach. Dario Franchitti and Josef Newgarden will start on the front row. If that doesn’t make any sense, you haven’t been paying attention to the IndyCar Series this past week.

First there was the engine problem that James Hinchcliffe had at Sonoma. Both he and Sebastien Bourdais were already set to make engine changes and serve a 10-spot penalty at Long Beach. Then there was the announcement that Chevrolet was going to be changing ALL of their engines, and that every car would be given the same 10 position penalty.

Friday was a monsoon, and for some odd reason, Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon were out on the track. There was nothing to gain, and nearly everything to lose. Dixon hit a puddle, hydroplaned, and slammed into the wall. If that wasn’t enough, his gearbox caught fire twice during qualifying today and he landed in 12th position.

In practice, both Tony Kanaan and Helio Castroneves found the wall. James Jakes did the same moments later, and Simona de Silvestro had problems of her own. She may also need to change an engine, along with Dixon. That would put the number of engine changes for this race at 16.

The Firestone Fast included Briscoe, Power, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Franchitti, EJ Viso, and Hinchcliffe.

Below is the actual starting lineup for the race once all of the penalties were handed out:

  1. Dario Franchitti
  2. Josef Newgarden
  3. Justin Wilson
  4. Simon Pagenaud
  5. Scott Dixon
  6. Takuma Sato
  7. Mike Conway
  8. Graham Rahal
  9. Charlie Kimball
  10. Alex Tagliani
  11. Ryan Briscoe
  12. Will Power
  13. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  14. James Jakes
  15. E.J. Viso
  16. James Hinchcliffe
  17. Simona De Silvestro
  18. Helio Castroneves
  19. Tony Kanaan
  20. JR Hildebrand
  21. Marco Andretti
  22. Rubens Barrichello
  23. Oriol Servia
  24. Ed Carpenter
  25. Sebastien Bourdais
  26. Katherine Legge

Below are Saturday’s qualifying results (before penalties):

  1. Ryan Briscoe
  2. Will Power
  3. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  4. Dario Franchitti
  5. EJ Viso
  6. James Hinchcliffe
  7. Josef Newgarden
  8. Helio Castroneves
  9. Justin Wilson
  10. Tony Kanaan
  11. Simon Pagenaud
  12. Scott Dixon
  13. Takuma Sato
  14. Mike Conway
  15. Graham Rahal
  16. JR Hildebrand
  17. Charlie Kimball
  18. Marco Andretti
  19. Rubens Barrichello
  20. Oriol Servia
  21. Alex Tagliani
  22. James Jakes
  23. Ed Carpenter
  24. Sebastien Bourdais
  25. Katherine Legge
  26. Simona de Silvestro

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s