Will Power on Pole at St Petersburg

If you were to count the number of things that are different with the IndyCar Series this year, you would need six hands and five feet. While most everything is new to the sport in 2012, a familiar face will start on pole for tomorrow’s season-opening race at St. Petersburg.

Will Power put down a track record on his way to winning the pole for the Honda Grand Prix. Power had a blazing lap of 61.3721 seconds to earn the top qualifying spot at this track for the third consecutive year. He won in 2010 and finished second to Dario Franchitti last year.

It should come as no surprise that Ryan Briscoe will be starting on the outside of row one. Power’s teammate had been one of the fastest drivers in each of the practice sessions. Another pair of teammates will be starting behind them in row two. Ryan Hunter-Reay and James Hinchcliffe give Andretti Autosport a very good chance at winning this race on Sunday.

Row Three features Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaud. Unfortunately for Pagenaud, he is going to be penalized ten starting positions because of an unauthorized engine change his team made on Friday. Because of this, Scott Dixon will get his sixth starting position. It was a tough day for the Ganassi crew, as none of his four drivers made the Fast Six during qualifying.

Marco Andretti qualified eighth as Tony Kanaan and Dario Franchitti rounded out the top ten.

The Honda Indy Grand Prix of St. Petersburg will run tomorrow at 12:30 on ABC.

Here are the qualifying results from Saturday.

  1. Will Power
  2. Ryan Briscoe
  3. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  4. James Hinchcliffe
  5. Helio Castroneves
  6. Simon Pagenaud
  7. Scott Dixon
  8. Marco Andretti
  9. Tony Kanaan
  10. Dario Franchitti
  11. Graham Rahal
  12. Mike Conway
  13. EJ Viso
  14. Rubens Barrichello
  15. Takuma Sato
  16. Justin Wilson
  17. Alex Tagliani
  18. JR Hildebrand
  19. Josef Negarden
  20. James Jakes
  21. Simona de Silvestro
  22. Charlie Kimball
  23. Oriol Servia
  24. Ed Carpenter
  25. Katherine Legge
  26. Sebastien Bourdais

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s