Zeb Wise Wins BC39 at IMS

Zeb Wise claimed victory in the 2nd annual Driven2SaveLives BC39 Powered by NOS Energy Drink on the dirt track at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. It was a 1-2-3 finish for Clauson-Marshall Racing, with Tyler Courtney and Chris Windom just behind. Courtney and Windom remain 1-2 in the championship standings after tonight’s race.

Chad Boat and reigning USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget champ Logan Seavey rounded out the top five on Thursday. Kevin Thomas Jr (8th) and Justin Grant (10th) had solid nights, and Ricky Stenhouse Jr (7th) and Kyle Larson (9) also finished inside the Top Ten. Larson won last night’s Stoops Pursuit race, in what was one of the wildest finishes on dirt in quite some time. He was battling for the lead in tonight’s feature race when a cut tire ended his hopes of a two-night sweep. Christopher Bell was also very close to victory, but a bobble late in the race cost him dearly. Last year’s winner Brady Bacon also made the feature race but came home in 16th spot.

In case you missed Wednesday night’s action, the wild final laps are below.

There were plenty of other drivers with name recognition as the talented field included 88 entries for the event. This was the third-largest field for a USAC NOS Energy Drink Midget National Championship event in the past three decades. The field has combined to win 23 USAC National championships and 208 total USAC National Midget feature wins. The two-day event featured nonstop action, but only 26 drivers were able to compete for the $15,000 prize A-Main race.

Wise couldn’t find the words after taking the checkered flag. The 16-year old held off fantastic charges by some legendary drivers in the closing laps. It was fitting that Wise parked the No. 39 Clauson-Marshall Racing on Thursday night.

Plenty of headliners missed the big show on Thursday night. Drivers like Dave Darland, JJ Yeley, Conor Daly, and Kyle O’Gara all failed to advance to the 39-lap A-Main feature. Tucker Klaasmeyer, Jerry Coons, Jr, Thomas Meseraull, and Cannon McIntosh all flipped during the feature, but all were able to walk away. Jesse Colwell was named Rookie of the Year, and Courtney received the Hard Charger Award for advancing from 20th to 2nd in the feature.

The next USAC Midget National race is September 28 at Eldora Speedway – the 38th Annual 4-Crown Nationals.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s