Indianapolis 500 Entry List

On the first day of May, the NTT IndyCar Series today released the entry list for the 103rd running of the Indianapolis 500. The race is 25 days away, and there are two TBA entries on the 36-car list, which came as no surprise. Both Juncos Racing (No. 32 Chevrolet) and Arrow SPM (No. 77 Honda) are waiting to name their drivers. This year, three cars will come up short in the quest to qualify for the Greatest Spectacle in Racing later this month.

The field is well-balanced from a manufacturer standpoint, with 18 entries each for Chevrolet and Honda. There are seven former winners entered (Castroneves, Dixon, Kanaan, Hunter-Reay, Rossi, Sato, and Power) as well as seven drivers aiming to earn Rookie of the Year honors (Ericsson, Ferrucci, Herta, Rosenqvist, O’Ward, Hanley, and King).

103rd Indianapolis 500 Entry List

McLaren Racing makes their triumphant return to Indianapolis, while DragonSpeed and Clauson-Marshall Racing will both attempt to compete in their very first Indy 500. Both Juncos and Carlin Racing will be aiming for the second straight Indy 500 race. Carlin has three entries this year, and Juncos will likely have the services of Kyle Kaiser once again. Oriol Servia and Carlos Munoz are reportedly battling for the seat at Arrow SPM.

Two-time Formula One Champion Fernando Alonso returns to the Indy 500 this year with McLaren Racing, attempting to become just the second driver to win the Triple Crown, with victories in the Indianapolis 500, 24 Hours of Le Mans, and Monaco Grand Prix. Indy 500 practice begins on Tuesday, May 14.

Qualifying is scheduled for Saturday, May 18 and Sunday, May 19 on the 2.5-mile oval. On Saturday, 30 cars will earn a spot in the starting field based on their fastest four-lap attempts, with positions 10 through 30 locked in that day. The order of the top nine positions and the last three available starting spots (31 through 33) will be determined on the second qualifying day during the Fast Nine Shootout and Last Row Shootout, which will air live on NBC.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s