Race of Champions

Daytona will be the hot spot on January 29, with the Rolex 24 taking center stage in the motorsports world. One week before that, some of the best drivers on the planet will be racing four hours south in the Race of Champions event.

The Race of Champions is an annual contest which has been held for over 25 years. It brings together some of the world’s greatest drivers from motor sport’s major disciplines – including Formula 1, NASCAR, IndyCar, Le Mans, MotoGP, Touring Cars, World Rally, and action sports – and sets them free to battle head-to-head in identical race cars.

For the first time in the history of the event, it will take place in the United States. Marlins Park in Miami, Florida is the place for both days (January 21, 22) of the event. The first day is the all-out battle for individual glory, and the second day will feature drivers pairing up to represent their nationality.

The Verizon IndyCar Series will be well represented in this year’s battle, with a host of big name drivers signed up to compete. Each of the past four Indianapolis 500 winners – Alexander Rossi, Juan Montoya, Ryan Hunter-Reay, and Tony Kanaan – will be joined by the 2015 Rookie of the Year Gabby Chaves. Just recently, it was announced that 3-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves and last year’s pole sitter James Hinchcliffe have been added to the event.

The 2014 Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year and NASCAR Cup Champion Kurt Busch will also be in the race. He will be teaming up with his brother Kyle, the 2015 NASCAR Cup Champion.

Hunter-Reay and Rossi will join forces for Team USA IndyCar, while Montoya and Chaves represent Team Columbia.

The Formula One roster is also very talented, with Jenson Button, Filipe Massa, and David Coulthard joining Sebastian Vettel, who won the event last year. The full driver lineup is below:

  • Alexander Rossi (2016 Indianapolis 500 winner)
  • Juan Montoya (2015 Indianapolis 500 winner)
  • Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014 Indianapolis 500 winner)
  • Tony Kanaan (2013 Indianapolis 500 winner)
  • Helio Castroneves (3-time Indianapolis 500 winner)
  • James Hinchcliffe (2016 Indianapolis 500 Pole winner)
  • Gabby Chaves (2015 IndyCar Rookie of the Year)
  • Sebastian Vettel (four-time Formula One Champion)
  • Jenson Button (2009 Formula One Champion)
  • Felipe Massa (11-time Formula One winner)
  • David Coulthard (13-time Formula One winner)
  • Kyle Busch (2015 NASCAR Cup Champion)
  • Kurt Busch (2004 NASCAR Cup Champion)
  • Scott Speed (Global Rallycross Champion)
  • Travis Pastrana (action sports legend)
  • Tom Kristensen (nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner)
  • Petter Solberg (two-time FIA World Rallycross Champion)

You can purchase tickets to the event now. There is an Early Bird 20% Offer for Home Plate seats for $84 (normally $105) and a special Weekend Package that includes half-priced tickets for the second day.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s