Power on Pole at Milwaukee

PowerxWill Power added another point to his championship lead today by winning the pole at Milwaukee. He recorded a two-lap average speed of 169.262 mph to earn the bonus point. This is Power’s third pole of the season, and the 35th of his career. Tony Kanaan will join Power on the front row. Juan Montoya and Ryan Briscoe will start in row 2 as the Ganassi and Penske teams took the top four spots for in qualifying on Saturday.

Power’s teammate Helio Castroneves qualified in eighth, but the other two championship contenders didn’t fare so well on Saturday. Ryan Hunter-Reay, who has won the past two races here, will start in 19th position. Simon Pagenaud is fourth in the standings, but will start in 16th spot tomorrow. Josef Newgarden and Charlie Kimball had quick runs on Saturday and will start in row 3 on the famed oval.

Click here to see the Qualifying results for the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250

James Hinchcliffe was fastest in both practice sessions on Saturday. Late in the second practice though, he lost control of the back end of his car and slammed the rear into the outside wall. The team made repairs to the car, and he qualified in 13th position. According to Curt Cavin, Hinchcliffe’s teammate Hunter-Reay just signed a 3-year contract extension with the team. A press conference has been scheduled for 12:40 PM ET tomorrow for an official announcement.

The field is now set for the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 at Milwaukee. The one-mile oval will test drivers both physically, and mentally – 250 times around. Ryan Hunter-Reay is looking for the trifecta, having won the event in each of the last two seasons. Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe, Tony Kanaan, Sebastien Bourdais, and Juan Montoya are the other active drivers that have also tasted victory at the Milwaukee Mile. Race coverage kicks off at 3 PM ET on NBC Sports Network.

Below you can watch highlights from Saturday’s action, courtesy of IndyCar.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s