Scott Dixon Wins Pole in Baltimore

dixonA motivated Scott Dixon captured the pole for tomorrow’s Grand Prix of Baltimore. It is the 20th career pole for Dixon, who is in a tense battle for the Championship. With just 2 race weekends left in the season, it was critical for Dixon to get a good starting position for Sunday’s race.

Dixon will be joined by Will Power on the front row. Row 2 belongs to Simon Pagenaud and Justin Wilson, with Josef Newgarden and Tristan Vautier sharing row 3. Points leader Helio Castroneves will start 7th, will Ryan Hunter-Reay on his outside in 8th position.

Graham Rahal and Tristan Vautier made contact in the second round of qualifying. Rahal locked his wheels up, and Vautier wasn’t able to avoid him. Rahal was holding his hand in obvious pain, but he said he was fine. Dario Franchitti, Tony Kanaan, and Marco Andretti all failed to advance out of the first round of qualifying.

Helio Castroneves enters tomorrow’s race as the leader in the championship. He is currently 39 points ahead of Scott Dixon. Ryan Hunter-Reay and Marco Andretti are 3rd and 4th, respectively. The Grand Prix of Baltimore will air live at 2 PM ET on NBC Sports Network.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s