Indy 500 Winner Debate

The 2013 Indianapolis 500 is still 167 days away, but it’s never too early to talk about it. An interesting question has been raised: would you rather see a four-time winner next year, or a first-time winner? Either one would be great, but which one would be better for IndyCar?

Next year both Helio Castroneves and Dario Franchitti will be going for that elusive fourth win at Indy.

On one side, I think the less people there are in a group, the better. To have such an exclusive club makes it that much more special. On the other hand, if Helio or Dario are able to join the legendary names of Foyt, Unser, and Mears next year, the headlines could really give the series a nice little shot in the arm.

After winning in his first two attempts, Helio has settled down. He finally got his third in 2009, and he will continue to be one of the favorites every May. Helio loves the fans, and he loves them back. Even the most casual racing fan knows his name, because of his track record with this race.

Dario on the other hand has rolled off wins in 2007, 2010, and 2012. Interesting to note each win came under the yellow flag, and were with different numbered cars (27, 10, 50). Both Helio and Dario know their way around IMS and have a team capable of getting them that fourth win. If I had to put percentages on it, I think Dario has a better chance of getting it than Helio does.

I spoke with Jake Query, who calls the race on the radio from turn two. He noted that being able to call a race with a four-time winner would be exciting. He has an appreciation for what it would mean to call such a historic event. Like myself, he noted that he roots for moments.

If neither of them are able to win it next year, there are a number of drivers we would love to see drink the milk for the first time. Obviously Tony Kanaan would be the favorite, along with guys like Rahal, Andretti, Hinchcliffe, Newgarden, Hildebrand, Hunter-Reay, and Carpenter. Seeing any one of those guys win next year would be fantastic for IndyCar.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s